Race Day Format

Shakedown – at most E-Prix, a shakedown session is held on Friday – the day before the main event – but this is dependent on the track (in our case, city streets) being available. Drivers use this session to check the electronic systems and the reliability of the car, but not overall performance as the cars run at a reduced speed.

At this time, the track layout, kerbs and features can be checked by the FIA, taking into account feedback from the competitors provided in the driver briefing.

Power – the power is limited to 110kW.

Each event has two practice sessions – an opening 45-minute session followed by a further 30-minute session. This is reduced to only one 45-minute session on the second day of a double-header. This is the first time the teams and drivers will take to the track under timed conditions as they get a feel for the track and adapt to the car set-up. Although the timer is on, it doesn’t count towards the final result. After all, it’s just a practice session.

Power – 250kW is available throughout.

Qualifying and Super Pole shoot-out
– Qualifying determines the order the drivers will start the race, with the fastest driver lining-up in first place and slowest at the back. The session lasts one hour and sees drivers divided into four groups of up to six cars, defined by their position in the championship. For the first race of the season, however, the order is decided by where they finished overall in the previous season.

Once out, each driver has six minutes to set their best time, with the top-six drivers proceeding to the Super Pole shoot-out in a bid to secure Julius Baer Pole Position and an additional three points. During the Super Pole shoot-out, the drivers go out one-by-one, with the sixth fastest driver from the group stages going out first. When they cross the line to start their flying lap, the pitlane light turns green and the fifth fastest driver heads out. This is repeated until all six drivers have completed a lap.

Power – 250kW is available throughout.

– races, or E-Prix, begin with a standing start, meaning the cars are stationary until the lights go green. The drivers line-up on a dummy grid – a short distance behind the actual grid – and slowly file into position to start the race. The E-Prix lasts for 45-minutes. At the end, once the 45minutes are up and the leader has crossed the finish line, there’s still one more lap to go until the race finishes.

New for the 2018/19 season is ATTACK MODE, which lets every driver pick up an extra hit of power at their own risk. To fire up ATTACK MODE, drivers will need to arm their car, drive off the racing line, and through the Activation Zone. As a reward for taking a slower line through the corner, they’ll be able to collect an extra 25 kW of power. Drivers that secure the extra speed, can use it for a few laps when they want to race harder, giving them the edge to keep ahead of the competition.

On top of that, there’s FANBOOST – your chance to impact the race. The five drivers who receive the highly-acclaimed FANBOOST – as voted for by you, the fans – are awarded a significant burst of power, which they can deploy in a five-second window during the second half of the race. You can vote to FANBOOST your favourite driver in the six days prior to, and leading up to 15 minutes into, each race. Click here to cast your vote.

You can also vote on social media using a #hashtag – posting a #NeelJani, along with #FANBOOST.

Double-header – the majority of races take place over a single day in order to minimise disruption to the host city. However, where possible some events stretch to two days with double the amount of action – these are referred to as double-headers. The schedules are mirrored from each day, with only one 45-minute practice session on the second day.

For more information visit: https://www.fiaformulae.com/en/championship/rules-and-regulations